Page 76 of 119

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 7:33 pm
by PlayfulGuy
spirit wrote: Sat May 12, 2018 4:47 pm Hi

First of, thanks for an awesoem tool. I've enjoyed GuideMe guides as a user for a long time, but also recently started trying to make some customized versions myself. Which leads me to my question.

Is there any way to display more than one image in the lefthand side at the same time? For example if I want to show two images side by side? It would be great if you could just show two images and it resized and fitted them, but alternatively is there some way for me to place them myself via a table or css-layout? I haven't been able to find any way, even looking through the wiki.

If the answer is no, is there any chance that this feature could be added to the list of requested future featuers?'

Thanks in advance.
Hi spirit.

This is possible but you have to create the html and the CSS for the layout of the left hand window in javascript code and then insert it into the page using overRide.leftHtml(). It's not a simple task, but it can be done.

This Blackjack game I did a few years ago demonstrates the technique and includes a bunch of javascript functions you should find helpful. I've discovered since posting that game that there are some bugs in it, but no one's ever asked about it so as far as I know no one has ever really played the game. I have an updated version if you're interested. I just haven't gotten around to uploading it to Mega yet.

Try downloading it and look through the code and see if it helps. It put's the image of the mistress on the left at the top, with images of the playing cards underneath. In the sample screen posted in that thread there are actually 4 images on the left, and two images on the right, so it's totally doable.

Regards,

PG

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:15 pm
by spirit
Oh, that's great. I had just sort of accepted that this wasn't possible with the current version (guess I overlooked the overrRide.leftHtml() function). But I can see now that it is with a bit of work figuring out the details of the css. I've only looked briefly at your code, but it' seems nicely structured and well documented enough to be easy to use as a starting point. Thank you for sharing your insight, PG, much appreciated. :-)

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:40 pm
by philo
spirit wrote: Tue May 15, 2018 8:15 pm Oh, that's great. I had just sort of accepted that this wasn't possible with the current version (guess I overlooked the overrRide.leftHtml() function). But I can see now that it is with a bit of work figuring out the details of the css. I've only looked briefly at your code, but it' seems nicely structured and well documented enough to be easy to use as a starting point. Thank you for sharing your insight, PG, much appreciated. :-)
You can also set it using guide.setLeftHtml or guide.setLeftBody

If you want to set it on page load, then use override.
If you want to set it anywhere else in javascript then use guide (e.g. to change the left pane using a delay or button press)

Bug report

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 11:27 pm
by PlayfulGuy
Hi Philo,

I ran across a little bug today. Using Guideme 3.6 (I'm pretty sure it's the latest build).
**Edit** I noticed your post of version 3.7 after and downloaded and tried it but same result.

If I use a delay like

Code: Select all

      <Delay seconds="0" target="21-(1..2)" />
and pages like

Code: Select all

        <Page id="21-1" if-not-set="EasyMode">
              page stuff
        </Page>

        <Page id="21-2" if-set="EasyMode">
              page stuff
       </Page
It does not work as expected. The intent is if flag EasyMode is set page 21 will always select 21-2, otherwise it will always select 21-1. What I get is random. The relevant log entries are shown below. You can clearly see it says both 21-1 and 21-2 are allowed, when only 21-2 should be.

Code: Select all

2018-05-19T17:09:03,616 TRACE MainShell - Exit DynamicButtonListner
2018-05-19T17:09:03,629 DEBUG MainLogic - displayPage PagePassed 21-(1..2)
2018-05-19T17:09:03,629 DEBUG MainLogic - displayPage Flags EasyMode
2018-05-19T17:09:03,630 TRACE MetronomePlayer - MetronomePlayer Stop
2018-05-19T17:09:03,630 DEBUG MainShell - MainShell stopVideo null
2018-05-19T17:09:03,630 DEBUG MainLogic - displayPage Random Page Min 1 Max 2 Pre 21- strPost
2018-05-19T17:09:03,630 DEBUG MainLogic - displayPage PageAllowed 21-1 Yes
2018-05-19T17:09:03,630 DEBUG MainLogic - displayPage PageAllowed 21-2 Yes
2018-05-19T17:09:03,630 DEBUG MainLogic - random number between 0 and 1 generates 0
2018-05-19T17:09:03,630 DEBUG MainLogic - displayPage PageChosen 21-1

If I use this instead it works as expected, so at least I have a workaround though.

Code: Select all

    <Page id="22">  <!-- Works as expected -->
      <Delay seconds="0" target="21-2"     if-set="EasyMode" />
      <Delay seconds="0" target="21-1" if-not-set="EasyMode" />
    </Page>
BugDemo.zip
(72.3 KiB) Downloaded 40 times
I've attached a zip file containing a simple demo of the issue.

Other than that 3.6 seems pretty solid.

Thanks,

PG

Re: Bug report

Posted: Sun May 20, 2018 12:12 pm
by philo
PlayfulGuy wrote: Sat May 19, 2018 11:27 pm Hi Philo,

I ran across a little bug today. Using Guideme 3.6 (I'm pretty sure it's the latest build).
**Edit** I noticed your post of version 3.7 after and downloaded and tried it but same result.

If I use a delay like

Code: Select all

      <Delay seconds="0" target="21-(1..2)" />
and pages like

Code: Select all

        <Page id="21-1" if-not-set="EasyMode">
              page stuff
        </Page>

        <Page id="21-2" if-set="EasyMode">
              page stuff
       </Page
It does not work as expected. The intent is if flag EasyMode is set page 21 will always select 21-2, otherwise it will always select 21-1. What I get is random. The relevant log entries are shown below. You can clearly see it says both 21-1 and 21-2 are allowed, when only 21-2 should be.

Other than that 3.6 seems pretty solid.

Thanks,

PG
I haven't (to my knowledge) changed any code around that recently, so I suspect that is a bug that has been around for a while.
I will have a look when I get a chance

Debug Window in 3.7

Posted: Sun May 20, 2018 3:39 pm
by PlayfulGuy
In Guideme 3.6 and earlier you could press Alt-D to bring up the debug window to jump to specific pages or alter variables and flags. In 3.7 Alt-D now just opens the applications Debug menu.

How do I get to that debug window? I use this all the time for testing and can't find the proper key sequence.

PG

Re: Debug Window in 3.7

Posted: Tue May 22, 2018 8:13 pm
by philo
PlayfulGuy wrote: Sun May 20, 2018 3:39 pm In Guideme 3.6 and earlier you could press Alt-D to bring up the debug window to jump to specific pages or alter variables and flags. In 3.7 Alt-D now just opens the applications Debug menu.

How do I get to that debug window? I use this all the time for testing and can't find the proper key sequence.

PG
Sorry my fault, I was getting the alt key for menus working.
Accidentally set the debug menu to alt d

Edit the DisplayBundle.properties file
it is the
MainDebug = &Debug

remove the & or move it before a letter other than D

That will change the key used to select the debug menu.

Re: Bug report

Posted: Tue May 22, 2018 8:58 pm
by philo
philo wrote: Sun May 20, 2018 12:12 pm
PlayfulGuy wrote: Sat May 19, 2018 11:27 pm Hi Philo,

I ran across a little bug today. Using Guideme 3.6 (I'm pretty sure it's the latest build).
**Edit** I noticed your post of version 3.7 after and downloaded and tried it but same result.

If I use a delay like

Code: Select all

      <Delay seconds="0" target="21-(1..2)" />
and pages like

Code: Select all

        <Page id="21-1" if-not-set="EasyMode">
              page stuff
        </Page>

        <Page id="21-2" if-set="EasyMode">
              page stuff
       </Page
It does not work as expected. The intent is if flag EasyMode is set page 21 will always select 21-2, otherwise it will always select 21-1. What I get is random. The relevant log entries are shown below. You can clearly see it says both 21-1 and 21-2 are allowed, when only 21-2 should be.

Other than that 3.6 seems pretty solid.

Thanks,

PG
I haven't (to my knowledge) changed any code around that recently, so I suspect that is a bug that has been around for a while.
I will have a look when I get a chance
Found the bug, must have been there a while.
It is fixed now, so will be in the next release.

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 7:38 am
by JerryLee06
Hi Philo,

I think I have followed your instructions, but the "Importer" don`t work correct.

I still have a problem. The Importer now downloads the script and the images,

but NOT the audio files!

Is that normal?

Thx for your help.

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 8:19 am
by philo
JerryLee06 wrote: Sat Jun 02, 2018 7:38 am Hi Philo,

I think I have followed your instructions, but the "Importer" don`t work correct.

I still have a problem. The Importer now downloads the script and the images,

but NOT the audio files!

Is that normal?

Thx for your help.
Can you let me know a tease that isn't downloading the audio and I will have a look.

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 9:44 am
by JerryLee06
Hi Philo,

Magicians-of-Pleasure

the mp3 files will not be downloaded

I know that this files are just the metronome files, but with the other flash teases it is the same.

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:09 am
by philo
JerryLee06 wrote: Sat Jun 02, 2018 9:44 am Hi Philo,

Magicians-of-Pleasure

the mp3 files will not be downloaded

I know that this files are just the metronome files, but with the other flash teases it is the same.
New version of the download jar file that should download sound files
https://mega.nz/#!gFIRGA4Q!PDdl7WaRYpFf ... MuIvxhIe78

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 12:08 pm
by slavejack
philo wrote: Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:09 am
JerryLee06 wrote: Sat Jun 02, 2018 9:44 am Hi Philo,

Magicians-of-Pleasure

the mp3 files will not be downloaded

I know that this files are just the metronome files, but with the other flash teases it is the same.
New version of the download jar file that should download sound files
https://mega.nz/#!gFIRGA4Q!PDdl7WaRYpFf ... MuIvxhIe78
That worked great...thanks!!

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:07 pm
by d3vi0n
strange... i can't edit the start post of the thread anymore... i get everytime a "you have been blocked" message

Re: GuideMe (TeaseMe v2.0) - Current Build 0.3.4

Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:57 am
by philo
d3vi0n wrote: Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:07 pm strange... i can't edit the start post of the thread anymore... i get everytime a "you have been blocked" message
There has been some sort of security implemented that tries to block code injection attacks but it tends to overblock.
Anything that looks like it might be sql tends to get blocked so words like update, delete, insert, drop can trigger it.