StereoStim troubleshooting.

This is the place for all suggestions, releases and feedback regarding Milovana Hardware efforts.
Nezhul
Experimentor
Experimentor
Sexual Orientation: Straight

StereoStim troubleshooting.

Post by Nezhul »

Hey. So I finally got around to assembling my own box, and I will say right away I'm not an expert in all that stuff. But I'm using a schematic/guide that I found a few years back on SmartStim forum, or something like that.

Anyway, my question probably doesn't really relate to the box itself, but to an additional feature I've added and wired. See, I wanted separate volume control for each channel. The way I decided to do it is by controlling channel volume before it even gets to the Amplifier.

Basically what I have is a standard 3.5 3-pin jack input. I then put each channel through their own variable resistors (turn-handle type), and have 2x RCA cables as an output. The RCA are then plugged into the Amp, and the rest you can probably guess - pretty standard power box schematic with audio transformers and so on.

Anyway, that volume control system can actually be tested independently. I can simply take the RCA outputs, convert them back to jack 3.5 via a cheap thingy bought in a store, and listen to the output audio. And when I test it like that it works flawlessly, just as you'd expect - when I turn the handle the volume in that channel gradually decreases, until it finally fades out completely. The decrease is linear and without kinks.
So I'm pretty sure I did that part good.

But when I plug in the entire system and test the actual trodes, here's what happens: